Kid / teen

So you’re interested in coding, that’s great! Please come back often – we will continuously update this page. For the time being, here are some ressources to get you started:

Scratch  – program designed for 8 to 16 years olds for programming interactive stories, games and animation with a possibility to share your projects in the online community. It is available in both English and French; ca be used offline with on Mac, Windows and Linux computers. It features Scratch Jr. – a simpler version designed for the 5 to 7 year-olds.


App inventor – an innovative beginner’s introduction to programming and app creation that transforms the complex language of coding into visual, drag-and-drop building blocks. The simple graphical interface grants even an inexperienced novice the ability to create a basic, fully functional app within an hour or less.


Khan Academy – free online courses designed for kids / youths (more of a pedagogical approach) on programming and computer science. JavaScript, HTML, CSS, SQL. Mostly in English, being translated into French.

 

 

Other ressources:

Hopscotch – iPad app recommended for ages 8 and above with simple, intuitive building blocks that can be used to create games, animations and apps in a colorful, interactive environment. Even younger coders can also try the Daisy the Dinosaur app. Lots of self-guided tutorials available.

Run Marco! –  adventure game that teaches the basic of coding and algorithmic reasoning to kids. Available as a browser game (under Safari, Chrome, Firefox, IE etc.) and an iPad and Android app; available in both English and French – as well as in other languages. Self-guided tutorials available.

Pocket Code – Android app that allows you to create games, animations, interactive music videos, and other kinds of apps, directly on your phone or tablet. The program features a  ‘LEGO’ style programming environment and allows the remix of old projects / projects created by others.

Blockly – library that adds a visual code editor to web and Android apps. The Blockly editor uses interlocking, graphical blocks to represent code concepts like variables, logical expressions, loops etc. and allows users to apply programming principles.

Lightbot – app that promises to teach coding in a playful manner, based on a simple principle: an enigma game. The user has the possibility to program different actions. It comes in two versions – for children 4 to 8 years and 9 and up.

Enfant / Jeune

La programmation, ça t’intéresse – c’est super! Nous allons faire évoluer cette section, reviens souvent! Pour l’instant, quelques ressources pour t’aider à commencer!

Scratch – Programme conçu pour 8 à 16 ans pour la programmation de histoires interactives, jeux et animations. Il permet la diffusion des projets; disponible en français / anglais,  peut être utilisé même offline sur des ordinateurs Mac, Windows et Linux. Pour les plus jeunes (5 à 7 ans) ils proposent Scratch Jr. – une version légèrement simplifiée.


App inventor – une introduction niveau débutant dans la programmation et la création des applis qui transforme le langage complexe de programmation dans un jeu visuel de type ‘drag-and-drop’ qui utilise des blocs  de code. L’interface simple offre même aux moins expérimenté/e/s la possibilité de créer une appli complètement fonctionnelle dans une heure, voire moins.


Khan Academy – cours gratuits en ligne, conçus pour les enfants / jeunes (approche pédagogique) sur la programmation et l’informatique en général. JavaScript, HTML, CSS, SQL. Pour la plupart en anglais, en cours de traduction en français.


Autres resources:

Hopscotch – appli iPad, iPhone recommandée pour jeunes de 8 ans et au-delà, qui utilise des blocs simples et intuitifs pour créer des jeux, animation et applis dans un environnement interactif et coloré. Même les enfants plus jeunes peuvent s’y mettre avec l’appli Daisy the Dinausaur. Pas mal de ressources d’apprentissage disponibles.

Run Marco! –  jeu d’aventure qui permet l’apprentissage des bases de la programmation. Ce programme est disponible dans les navigateurs (Safari, Chrome, Firefox, IE etc.) ainsi que comme appli iPad ou Android; il est disponible tant en français qu’en anglais – ainsi que dans d’autres langues. Tutoriels disponibles.

Pocket Code – Appli Android qui permet la création des jeux, animations, vidéos musicales interactives ainsi qu’autres types d’applis, en utilisant le téléphone portable ou la tablette. Le programme a ete conçu dans le style de ‘LEGO’ et permet la reprise et adaptation des anciens projets / des projets des autres.

Blockly – bibliotheque qui ajoute un code visuel aux sites web ainsi qu’aux applis Android. L’editeur Blockly utilise des blocs graphiques interconnectés pour representer concepts de programmation tel que les variables, les expressions logiques, les loops etc. et permet aux utilisateurs d’appliquer des principes de programmation.

Lightbot – appli qui promet d’aborder la programmation de façon ludique basé sur un principe simple: un jeu d’énigme. L’utilisateur a la possibilité de programmer différentes actions. Il existe en 2 versions – pour les 4 à 8 ans et pour les 9+.